10 Seriously useful Facebook Settings

10 Seriously Useful Facebook Settings You Probably Aren’t Using

It is really difficult to find a person without a Facebook account nowadays. Over 2 billion people are on Facebook i.e. more than a quarter of the world’s population. Facebook being one of the most popular social networking sites, also comes with various settings that many people might not even know about. Here I have compiled a list of 10 seriously useful Facebook settings you probably aren’t using. So, without any further ado, let’s get started.


10 Seriously Useful Facebook Settings


Read Hidden Messages

Message Requests

Not many people know that Facebook has two inboxes. One of them is for messages from people who aren’t your friends on Facebook. If you didn’t know about the second mailbox, then you most likely have missed invitations to different events by your friend’s friends, or propositions of meeting from your former colleagues.

To read these messages, click on the ‘Message’ icon and then ‘Message Request’, and tap ‘See filtered requests’.

Check Where You’re Logged In

Check Where you're logged in

Not sure if you logged out of your friend’s PC or phone? Don’t worry! You can always check where your ID is logged in. Click a small down arrow in the upper right corner of the screen. Select ‘Settings’, click ‘Security’ from the list on the left, and then select ‘Where You’re Logged In’. Now you will be able to see all the details of the browsers where you’re logged in. You can log out of any device by just clicking ‘End Activity’. This is one of the most useful Facebook settings on our list today.

Be Sure You Won’t Be Cracked

be sure you wont be cracked

If you’re doubtful about the Facebook security system, you can use ‘Setting Up Extra Security’ on the ‘Security’ tab. The security system will require a password when logging into your account from an unknown device. In the case of logging onto your page from a device that you’ve never used, you’ll need to use a password that will be sent to your phone.

Choose a Friend Responsible for Your Account

Trusted Contacts

If you ever get locked out of your page or cannot access your page then this Facebook setting is here for you. Facebook gives you the opportunity to choose 3 to 5 people who will be responsible for your page if you die or get locked out. Just click on the ‘Setting Up Extra Security’ on the ‘Security’ tab. Your trusted contacts are friends you chose who can securely help if you ever have trouble accessing your account.

Have Some Nostalgia

See Friend ship

We all have that phase in our life where we just sit there and think about all the things that has happened in our lives, mostly the happy moments. Facebook sure does help you deal with your nostalgic feelings in a way. If you want to have a look at your old ridiculous photos or posts with your best friends, just simply click on the ellipsis icon in your friend’s profile and tap ‘See Friendship’. Now that you know what to do when you miss your old stuff with your friends, there is no need to scroll down and waste your time.

Recall Your Past Times on Facebook

View Activity Log

Ever wondered what kind of posts you’ve liked the most on Facebook? Or wanted to know what you did on Facebook this month or the last month? Well, Facebook allows you to see all the posts you have ever liked, commented, or posted. You just have to click on ‘View Activity Log’ on your Facebook timeline.

Be In Your Friend’s Shoes

View as

Did you know you could see your profile through others’ perspective? Well, if you didn’t, now you do. If you want to know how your friends or people who are not your friends see your profile, just click on the ellipsis icon right next to the ‘View Activity log’, and select ‘View As…’ This will give you an opportunity to look at your page or profile through the eyes of other people. However, you can only view your profile, not like, comment or do anything else.

Turn off Auto-Playing Videos in Your News Feed

Video Settings

If you don’t want videos on Facebook to play automatically in your news feed, you can easily turn them off from the settings.

For this, go to Security > Videos > Auto-Play Videos. You can turn them on and off whenever you want to. You can also change the quality of the videos from the video settings box.

Choose Posts You Want To See

See First and Close Friends Feature

 

The two settings—‘See First’ and ‘Close Friends’ ensure that you won’t miss any of the posts from your favorite people or pages. The See First button places the posts of the people or pages that you choose to see at the very beginning of your News Feed but doesn’t alert you about them. However, the Close Friend feature allows you to see their posts at the top of your News Feed and also notifies you about them.

Save a Post For Later

You’re scrolling through your News Feed and see an interesting article, but at the same time, something comes up and you got to go. So what about that interesting article you wanted to read? For times like this, Facebook has come up with an amazing function that lets you save posts and links for later. Just click the down arrow in the upper right corner of the post you want to save for later and then tap ‘Save Post’ or ‘Save Link’. You can view saved materials on the ‘Saved’ tab located on the left side of your home page.

There you go, 10 useful Facebook settings that you should use right away. Do you know any other Facebook setting that I didn’t mention here? If you do, let us know about them in the comments below. We’d love to hear from you.

 

Reference: Bright Side

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *